This large 18th-century-style building, designed by the Brousseau brothers, used to be the town’s Bishop palace. The building was also used as a fire station as well as a hospital.

It was restored from the 1802 concordat, onwards into the 19th century: – Its chapel kept its altar, and above it, the painting by Suvée representing Saint Louis adoring the relics of the Passion, in a frame sculpted by Babel (1772) but in the second half of the 19th century, a Neo-Romanesque tabernacle, tapestries, an Aubusson carpet and stained-glass windows were added on. The Episcopal palace was unoccupied in the end of 1906, when the law separating the Church and the State was applied.

The museum is home to several permanent collections including some early Renoir paintings and a fascinating collection of models showing the growth of Limoges over the years. The real draw for us though was seeing how the Bishop would have lived as you wandered from gallery to gallery in the gorgeous building which sits in the middle of the (free) botanical gardens. trip-advisor

The building became a registered Historical Monument on September 16th 1906. It was acquired by the city of Limoges and in 1912, became the municipal diocese museum, and more recently, the Limoges Fine Arts Museum. The museum now houses many treasures: a unique collection of enamel from all over the world (Medieval “Champlevé” copper enamel, painted Renaissance enamel, as well as Art Deco and Contemporary enamel), Impressionist paintings (particularly by famous artist Renoir, who was born in Limoges), pieces that date back to the Gallo-Roman and Ancient Egyptian eras…

Opening hours

From April 1st to September 30th : open every day except on Tuesdays, from 10am to 6pm (last visitors: 5.45pm) From Octover 1st to March 31st open every day except on Tuesdays and Sunday mornings, from 10am to 12pm and 2pm to 5pm. (last visitors: 11.45am and 4.45pm) Closed on January 1st, may 1st November 11th and December 25th. Rates: 5 € – 3 €. Booking and fee required for supervised activities.

Place de l’Evêché
87000 LIMOGES
Tel. : 05 55 45 98 10
Fax : 05 55 34 44 14
Email : musee-bal@ville-limoges.fr
Website : www.museebal.fr